How to get perfect curls for naturally curly hair

9 Nov

Look- I’m not claiming that I have perfect curly hair. But I do have curly hair. And I’ve had over a quarter of a century  to perfect a routine.

how to deal with curly hair

Click to enlarge

When I was younger, a child, my hair was the bane of my existence.  It would tangle constantly in huge rats nests and would frizz up to the high heavens. It wasn’t until 8th grade, when a fellow classmates took me aside and taught me the most important secret of having beautiful naturally curly hair. This is the maxim by which all curly-girls must live by. DON’T BRUSH IT

Here, as follows, is my step-by-step guide to having perfect curls:

  1.  Get a haircut that has LONG LAYERS, starting about jaw length

  2.  Shampoo and condition hair with products  formulated for curly or dry hair. My current favourite is the John Frieda curly line and I also like the Redken and La Coupe curly lines

  3. Use wide tooth comb to untange hair while conditioner is in hair, in shower. Rinse your hair

  4.  Emerge from shower. Flip hair upside down and use about a softball size ball of mousse and scrunch in hair. Use another softball of mouse and continue scrunching. Use another softball of mouse and scrunch, scrunch, scrunch. If your hair is shorter use less, and if your hair is longer, use more.  My current favourite mouse is the one from Herbal Essence meant for curly hair. Try to find a mousse with very little alcohol

  5.  Flip head over, wait to air dry. Do not pass go. Do not towel dry. Do not touch hair. Do not brush hair. Do not rub hair all over couch

  6.  If it gets frizzy, run some oil through it (Morrocan, Almond, Jo Jo ba, whatever) or, use the John Frieda Finishing cream. Afew dabs of that gets rids of frizz!

  7. Wait at least 2-3 days to wash hair again for best hair health. You can touch up in between with a 1-inch curling iron, especially around the front

 

 

All opinions are my own. This is not a sponsored post. I paid for all products myself. 
 
Tips, tricks, comments?

