Why I’m starting Accutane

14 Aug

Alright. So, after literally over a decade of my dermatologist trying to push Accutane on me, I took the plunge. I had been so resistant to it for so long because I did not want to put drugs in my body that were that harsh. I don’t even like taking Advil. But after having acne since Grade 5 and trying literally everything under the sun, and STILL HAVING ACNE, I just decided enough was freakin’ enough.

There were things that I tried that would work very well, and I would have clear skin for long stretches, but without fail, sometimes before my period or when I went through a lot of stress, my acne would flare up again. It is really a disease that needs to be constantly managed. There really is no “cure” besides Accutane (and sometimes even that is not a cure!)

I want to share with you guys my experience on Accutane so you and your Dr.  can decide if this medication is right for you. I am going to write a post every month for the next three months to tell you my progress.

My acne history

When I was a pre-teen and a teenager I had all over acne with small bumps on my forehead, nose, cheeks. I tried a bunch of topical treatments but when I was younger I wasn’t as good with any sort of beauty routine so nothing really consistently, and nothing really worked. I did wear makeup every day and my acne was bothersome but it didn’t take over my life or anything since I tried to have a healthy perspective about it.

Starting age 17 I developed more stress related cystic acne and less teenager/oily acne. During exam time without fail I would break out into huge cystic acne bumps along my chin and jaw line. This continued throughout university. After university and with much reduced stress and going on Tetracycline, my skin became a LOT clearer. However my acne returned when I went to grad school with the same terrible cystic bumps and got HORRIBLE during writing my thesis. It was also bad right before my period. My skin again got incredibly clearer once I graduated and started working and had very little stress. I also went on a strict regime of 3 oral medications (antibiotics, birth control pill, spiro), 2 topical medications (aczone and epuido) and this controlled my acne considerably. I went off everything but Spiro and using some salicylic acid 2% to maintain my  ish clear skin.  But still sometimes I would just get acne, almost always right before my period. It was so freaking annoying and I was sick of it and it was starting to leave a lot of hyper pigmentation marks,  so I decided to finally try Accutane.

My fears

This medication can have a lot of horrible side effects. Reading the label is truly terrifying. And if I get pregnant I have to get an abortion. I also have to be on the birth control pill  so that is another medication that I DON’T want to take with its own side effects, but I have to. Also my Dr. told me I wasn’t supposed to drink. But I do drink. I hope this doesn’t fuck up my liver.

Side effects so far

I’ve been on this medication for about 2 weeks and so far I have dry lips and flaky facial skin.

Length of Treatment: 3 months
Dosage: 40 mg/day

 Learn more about Accutane and all the scary shit associated with it here

 Things I have already tried to clear my acne

Note: A lot of things HELPED my acne for long periods of time (years) but eventually my acne would always reappear in some form.

Topical treatments

  • benzoyl peroxide (2.5%, 5% and 10%
  • sulphur (works to dry up individual pimples well)
  • salicylic acid 2%
  • aczone
  • epuido
  • xiana
  • clyndimicin
  • benzaclyn
  • retin-a

Medications

  • Tetracycline
  • Doxycycline
  • Alesse
  • Ortho Tri Cyclin
  • Spiro

Random other shit

  • Clarasonic
  • Million different face washes and masks
One Response to “Why I’m starting Accutane”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Accutane Review: One month post completion | LustForBlush - December 19, 2013

    […]  Why I went on Accutane […]

Tips, tricks, comments?

