Latisse review and application tips

20 Feb

Product: Latisse

Credit: Allergan website

Credit: Allergan website

 

Price: $230 CDN (including 13% tax)

Size: 5 ml

Claims:  LATISSE® is a prescription treatment for hypotrichosis (inadequate or not enough lashes) to grow eyelashes longer, fuller, darker (from website). Can double eyelashes in four months.

Side effects/warnings: LATISSE® may cause increased brown pigmentation of the colored part of the eye which is likely permanent. Eyelid skin darkening may occur and may be reversible. Only apply at the base of upper lashes.  Hair may grow on skin that LATISSE® frequently touches. Common side effects are itchy and red eyes. If discontinued, lashes gradually return to previous appearance.

Application: One drop on upper eye lashes at night. ( I also use this on my eyebrows!)

Side effects experienced: Occasionally itchy eyes

Review at five weeks: I have noticed my eyelashes both thicker and darker starting at four weeks. Am excited to see how they look at weeks 8 and 16! Sometimes I’m like “oh did I not take all of my mascara off?”…

I found a doctor who prescribed this off of the Latisse website. I went there the same day and the doctor explained the medication then gave me a prescription.

They only sold the large size but told me it would last for five months. It’s such a tiny bottle (5 ml is only a teaspoon!) so I find this hard to believe, but you are only supposed to use one drop, so we will see.  I also asked them to throw in some extra eye applicators, since the box didn’t come with enough for five months.

Tips to use Latisse effectively, told to me by the doctor:

  1. You can use the same applicator for both eyes (they say use a different one for each eye because you can transmit infections from eye-to-eye but unless you have pink eye or something this shouldn’t really be a problem)
  2. After you’ve reached the length/thickness you want, you can just apply the Latisse a few times a week, no need to keep applying every night
  3. Sometimes it’s weird/uncomfortable to have long eyelashes at the inner eye so you can just apply it on the outer edges of the eye

I’m going to update at  8 and 16 weeks and let you know how it’s going, along with before and after shots.

One Response to “Latisse review and application tips”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Latisse at 6 weeks | Lust for Blush - March 5, 2013

    […] In short, I have noticed a major difference so far. At the end of 16 weeks I’ll make a photo collage so you guys can see the difference side-by-side. SO far though, I would say this product, if you have the money, is definitely worth it. Here is the link to my original post. […]

Tips, tricks, comments?

