Vaseline: Ultimate multi-tasker

19 Feb

I often get these impulses to purge my entire beauty closet and leave only a single tub of petroleum jelly. Everyone always talks about how Elizabeth’s Arden 8 hour cream or Embryolisse is the ultimate multi-tasker, but I really think that Vaseline is while also being WAY cheaper and easier to find.

It’s one of those simple products that works. You won’t be disappointed. Here are some uses I personally use Vaseline for

  • Lip balm
  • Feet covered with woolies (Construction workers socks) before bed to soften calluses
  • cheekbones and eyelids to make them shiny
  • Eyelashes as conditioning treatment
  • All over body to soften
  • My forehead before dark hair dye so it won’t stain
  • In high school I mixed it with crushed pink eyeshadow to make lip balm and then put it in an old Rosebud lip salve tub

I usually buy the brand name stuff, but if you are extremely frugal you can also buy the house brand stuff. Since there’s only one ingredient I don’t really see how it can be different.

Also: U.K people, I am SO jealous that they sell Vaseline in a tin there. It’s like a way cheaper version then Rosebud lip salve.

3 Responses to “Vaseline: Ultimate multi-tasker”

  1. Must Have Boxes February 22, 2013 at 12:58 AM #

    Vaseline is a fabulous beauty product! It works really well to help hydrate dry or cracked skin.

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com/

  2. ajay March 12, 2013 at 1:30 PM #

    I’m honestly a product junkie, and it has taken me YEARS to admit that Vaseline trumps all. I have drawers full of chapstick and various things (Elizabeth Arden’s 8 hour protectant included) but nothing compares to vaseline. Great blog, by the way!

    • lustforblush March 15, 2013 at 6:42 PM #

      Thanks! I totally know what you mean. It’s hard to admit that the simplest product gets the job done best!

Tips, tricks, comments?

