Essence Lipgloss Review

28 Dec

Stats

Product: Essence Stay with me longlasting lipgloss in 01 (pink) and 07 (red)lipgloss

Price: $2.99 USD

Availability: Select Shoppers Drug Mart (Canada), Ulta  (U.S)

Short story short

Pros

  • Perfect size to party with (fits inside the smallest of bag
  • Cheap$ as hell
  • Natural looking, sheer colour
  • Non-sticky

Cons

  • Long-wearing claims do not hold up under un-scientific testing

Long story long

When I lived in Belgium studying philosophy in third year I would spend my spare time exploring drugstores, checking out the makeup. Part of the fun of living in a foreign country is shopping in supermarkets and shopping in drugstores. They just have cool new products and even if it’s the same product it usually has new packaging.

Yes, that is how cool I am, I spend my spare time trolling the aisles of drug and grocery stores.

While in Belgium I found a makeup  brand called Essence. Cheap as NYC products, I would stock up on blotting papers and nail polish. I saw, with my extremely practiced eye, that many of the products were made in Germany. I just find that whenever I buy an eyeliner or other makeup product made in Germany it tends to be of a high-quality. I’m convinced they have one great factory spitting out identical makeup products and both high and low brands just slap their label on them.

When I got back to Toronto nothing that cheap really matched the quality of Essence, but luckily within a few short years Essence came to my fine country.

Fast forward to a few years later when  I was interning at a beauty magazine. One day a  PR company came in and  tossed some Essence products on a table in front of us. I was in grad school at the time, and so of course grabbed anything free. Two of these products were Essence lipglosses. And that, ladies and gentlemen is why you are reading this product review today.

Tips, tricks, comments?

